Poem: Self-Portrait with Bandaged Ear by Gregory Vincent St. Thomasino

the reed of a loom
the guideways, of a loom, or

when suddenly, when suddenly
this is spring, and this is summer

and this, this is open sky.
the birds resemble a man.

dandelion. giddying.
budded. spree.

roundly, with joy
for nothing and for everything

the day, with my own heart
too soon, arrayed. this haste

this pasturing. this coffee companion.
this cup. this yellow sky

reprinted w/ permission from The Valise by Gregory Vincent St Thomasino -2012

4 responses to “Poem: Self-Portrait with Bandaged Ear by Gregory Vincent St. Thomasino

  1. Dear Vittoria, what a lovely interview, plus, introduction to another beautiful California poet! Mille grazie! I’m
    “launching” my first reading in the Los Angeles area on
    Sunday, Aug. 19th, at MOONDAY/EAST Bookshop in
    Flintridge/LaCanada, which I hope will connect me to
    other bookshops in the LA Area, since I’m funded by Poets&Writers, through a Grant from the James Irvine
    Foundation, and I’ve been living as a true “pauper poet”
    for much too long. Wish me luck!
    Warmest Hugs and LOVE,
    Patricia D’Alessandro
    ciaopat12@gmail
    P.S. pull up
    http://www.moondaypoetry.compatricia-dalessandro-2012htm which MOONDAY put on the web,
    which pleased me very much.

  2. This is a poem by a NY poet…and I have no idea about LA bookstores

  3. Dear Vittoria, Just a short note to let people know that the series I Host
    “Valley Voices of the Muse” will now be presented at the SAVAGE ART GALLERY, 870 Response Road in Palm Springs, CA, every First Friday of the Month from 6 to 7:00 p.m. Featured March 1st will be Professor Russell Thorburn, from No.Michigan University, author of “Father, Tell Me I Have Not Aged” (Marick Press, Michigan) and “Misfit Hearts (Rocky Shore Books, Marquette, MI) Funded by Poets & Writers Magazine through a Grant received from the James Irvine Foundation, we are celebrating
    eight years of presentations which are FREE and everyone is welcome.
    Refreshments will be served after the readings.
    Patricia D’Alessandro, Host
    ciaopat12@gmail.com

  4. Send announcements of readings and literary events by the 15th of the preceding month to Lisa Paolucci at newsletter@iawa.net

Leave a comment